Tags

,

I got tired of constantly doing grocery and paying ridiculous amounts of money for fruits and vegetables. So, this Friday morning (it is the first day of the weekend for me). I decided this was enough and headed to the wholesale vegetable and fruit market (there is no farmer’s markets here).

And, I think I went a bit crazy. I have fruits and vegetables everywhere in the house. I bought carton (I think it 7 kilos) of zucchini, capsicum, sweet potatoes, avocado, oranges, grapefruit and lemon each. I bought four kilos of spinach, iceberg, cauliflower, broccoli and cucumber. I also bought stock of herbs – coriander, parsley, mint, dill, rosemary.

I have overload of strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, pomegranate, guava, tomatoes, mushrooms and banana.

My kitchen and living room is overflowing with fruits and vegetable.

The problem, which I did not appreciate at the time (or did but didn’t care about) is that storing so many fruits and vegetables is a nightmare.

I have spent most of my weekend chopping, cutting, pureeing, juicing, blending and preserving vegetables and fruits.

Broccoli, Cauliflower, Capsicum, Tomatoes (some) and Spinach have been chopped and put in freezer.

Some Tomatoes and Avocados have been pureed and mashed and other frozen. Some turned into guacamole and salsa.

lemons have been juiced and zest grated and stored in oil.

herbs soaked in water. Some potatoes and and sweet potatoes par-boiled and frozen.

Zucchini – some has been sliced and stored.

Well, at least, now I don’t have to buy fruits and vegetables for sometime.