Tags

, ,

As you probably know, I went a bit overboard with my purchase of fruits and vegetables this weekend. I am now in the process of incorporating these fruits and vegetables in my diet.

I love fruit salads. However, my favourite is the one my mum use to make when we were growing up (I have altered it a bit). The recipes includes:

1 guava – thinly sliced

1/2 or 1 banana – thinly sliced and halved

1/2 cup pomegranate kernels

1/4 cup diced strawberries

1/4 cup orange juice (preferably fresh)

I mix it all together and then add Chaat Masala.

Chaat Masala is a Pakistani mix of spices that you usually add to or eat with most snacks. It is not overpowering and have the right amount of kick. (You can use it on anything. I add it to lentils, grilled chicken, sprinkle on fresh fries or baked fries). The amount you add depends on your taste buds and ability to handle spices. I would start with a dash and then add more if you want more of a kick.

My mum would sometimes add thinly diced granny apples to the fruit salad as well.  I am not a big fan of apples so don’t add it.

It is a refreshing fruit salad.  Sometimes I make it  and put in the fridge  overnight. I will then have it for breakfast.

Yum!