Tags

,

I have been recently using Courgettes/Zucchini noodle to substitute pasta esp angel hair, Spaghetti and Fettuccine. It has helped me reduce the calorie intake in dinners.

There are a number of equipments that various people recommend to make zucchini noodles – spiral slicer, mandoline and Spirelli-Spiral-Cutter.

I actually really like the idea of a spiral cutter as you can get long thin strands of courgettes  with it. However, I have neither the mandoline nor the spiral cutter so I use vegetable grater. It is simple. I grate the courgettes sideways so I get about 3 to 3/12 inches strand and that I think is frankly long enough to get the effect of pasta.

I really like this recipe of Courgettes noodles with Pesto (Zucchini). It is a great recipe and I have tried it three times now.

First time, I made it as is and then ended up covering it with red pepper flakes. Not a great idea. It means that there is very little taste except chilli, which is a shame as this recipe makes really good pesto. I love spicy and chilli food but I also like it to be flavourful.

The second time, I modified it a bit as it was a bit bland for my taste. In the pesto, along with usual ingredients (mentioned in the recipe), I added some green chilli, a bit of coriander, roasted green peppers, few mint leaves, roasted pine nut and a dash of cumin and ground nutmeg.

I also didn’t have any Parmesan Cheese for the pesto and so replaced it with miso. A vegetarian friend of mine use to do this all the time and in small quantity it works really well.

When I made the dish again (third time), I also threw in some freshly chopped cucumber (about 1/2 cup) just before serving and mixed it all up. It added a real crunch.

I really find that adapting dishes to my own palette means that I enjoy them more, eat less and get satisfied more quickly.