Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I found this recipe via Pinterest, which I love by the way as a source of inspiration for nutrition, motivation and obviously great recipes.

The original recipe can be found here. However, I have yet to meet a recipe that I have not added and subtracted from to match my taste buds. The adaption usually starts with improvising and then I start adding other stuff and this recipe was no different. My complete recipe is at the end of this post.

My dry and wet ingredients looked like this:

Image

I did not have unsweetened applesauce that recipe called for so I ditched the brown sugar and used sweetened applesauce.

I don’t have any milk at home so I used almond milk to soak oats.

Since I am not a big fan of raisins, I substituted them with dried blueberries (1/3 cup dry) soaked in warm water, which is the dark-blue liquid in the last bowl.

 Image

I always think oatmeal should have chocolate and added semi-sweet chocolate bits (1/4 cup) in the dry batter (you can see it in the first picture and also above).

While I was rummaging through my pantry, I noticed that I had some hemp seeds so I decided to throw them in the dry ingredients too (2 tsp). The rest of the recipe I followed including the method of making the muffins.  Oh, I actually didn’t – I changed white sugar to brown sugar from sprinkling at the top with cinnamon.

They are now in the oven and I am waiting for 20 mins (or may be 25 minutes) to pass before I can check on them.

So while, I am waiting if you have not used hemp seeds, here is wikipedia link that explains all about them but in summary, they are:

  • They are a variety of Cannabis (c’mon you must admit this is awesome fact).
  • They are easily digested protein. For those who are allergic to soy, hemp seeds are a great vegan/vegetarian alternative. Hemp seeds contain all 10 essential amino acids. 
  • They contain a healthy anti-inflammatory 3:1 ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fat. In addition, hemp seeds contain an especially beneficial type of omega-6 fat called GLA (gamma linolenic acid). GLA is a direct building block of good anti-inflammatory hormones. Unfortunately, this special omega-6 fat is not typically found in foods.

Anyway, here are the muffins all done:

IMG_0440

And with all the blueberries and chocolate chip cookies – it was really moist and bursting with flavour.

The Recipe
Makes 12 

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats (not instant)
1 cup almond milk
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sweetened applesauce
2 egg whites
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp brown sugar
2 tsp hemp seeds
1/3 cup dry blueberries (soaked in water)
1/4 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Soak the oats in milk for an hour. Soak blueberries in water according to instructions on the pack. Spray muffin pan with cooking spray. Combine the oat mixture with the applesauce and egg whites, and mix until combined. In a separate bowl, whisk dry ingredients (including chocolate chips (except the cinnamon and sugar) together. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined. Drain water and add blueberries. Do not over mix the batter or the muffins will be tough. Spoon muffin mixture into muffin pan. Combine the cinnamon and sugar and top each muffin with some of the mixture. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until done. These can also be frozen and reheated in the microwave for a quick breakfast.

According to MFP calculation with all the substitutions and additions – the muffins were 150 calories each. Yes, they are more than 92 calories of individual recipes but you get chocolate and blueberries with this version. Yum.