Tags

, , ,

DSC00497

I started out to make Courgette Corn Pancakes for lunch but then when I was mid-way in the process my partner decided he was not going to be home for lunch so I needed to change the recipe to something that I could store.

Also, I had added some flour to the recipe so needed to switch to something that would still work.

I (as usual) also did not have some of the ingredients (like corn). You would think not have corn would be a deterrent and I would make something else. Nope.

I ended up doing what I am calling Courgette Cauliflower Cake Fritters. 

Courggette Cakes

Makes 10 (Each Cake is about 139 cals)

Ingredients

4 eggs
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp dry basil
1 tsp dry oregano
1 tsp peri peri chilli
2 tsp flax seeds
1/2 cup avocado
1 cup cut cauliflower
3  cup shredded courgette
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
3/4 cup amaranth flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 170 degrees.

Whip the eggs, salt, black pepper, basil, oregano, peri-peri spice, flax seeds and avocado. Add cauliflower,  courgette and cheese and mix it with egg-avocado mixture. However, the genius that I am added the flour first. And in the end, add the flour and mix it together.

Make pancakes-fritters of approximately 8 cms/3 inches diameter and bake in the oven until the fritter turn golden brown.

Yogurt Dipping Sauce

I also made a dipping sauce with greek yogurt. It is based on the sauce I saw a friend make to eat with falafel

Ingredients

1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 tbsp chopped dill
1.5 tsp lemon juice
1/8 tsp white ground pepper
1 clove crushed garlic

Mix it all together and you are good to go.