Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is not a quick recipe.

This is the kind of recipe, which you start in the morning and enjoy at night. It gets tastier with storing and next day tastes better than on the same day. I usually put it on the stove in the morning to cook on low heat and enjoy it in the afternoon/evening. It is also something I usually make on the weekends. It is great for the days when you are feeling under the weather and want comfort food. I usually skip yogurt if I am not feeling too well.

I started making this stew after a search on Pinterest for healthy Pumpkin recipes. The recipe is for Pumpkin, Chickpeas and Red lentil Stew.

The first time I made this stew, I did not have red lentils. A couple of years ago, I would have either trekked to the supermarket to get the lentils or would have made something else. But, now I am wiser and more resourceful. I do not get scared of changing the recipes and that is what I did with this recipe.

Recipe as Adapted by Me

Prep Time: 25 to 30 minutes (there is a fair bit of chopping)
Cook time: min 5 hours but the longer you cook on low heat, better it tastes.

Ingredients

  • 380 gms pie pumpkin or winter squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 cup boiled chickpeas (I buy dry chickpeas, boil them and freeze them)
  • 3 medium carrots (approx 300 gms, sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 1 cup chopped onion (160 gms)
  • 1/2 cup yellow (moong or mung) lentils, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup green (moong or mung) lentils, rinsed and drained
  • 1 large tomato (210 gms) chopped
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon chilli
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 maggi stock cube
  • 1/4 cup chopped peanuts (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • Plain nonfat greek yogurt (optional)

Directions

Saute onion in oil on low heat, and set aside. In a big pot add approximately 4 liters of water and add the Maggi stock cube. Once it has dissolved, add pumpkin, chickpeas, carrots, onion, lentils, tomato paste, ginger, lime juice, cumin, salt, turmeric, red chilli, smoked paprika, bay leaf and pepper. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or on high-heat setting for 4 to 5 hours. Top each serving with peanuts, cilantro, and if desired, yogurt.

The recipe has been copied and amended from Better Homes and Gardens. I did not rewrite the entire recipe. I just amended it based on my own additions and subtractions.

Makes about 10.6 cup. Serving Size: 1 cup. Calories (without peanuts and yogurt): 124 calories