Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wednesday was a long and hard day for me at work. I came home around 11:30 pm, and I was short on my step challenge by a lot. Yikes!

In the morning I had done a strenuous one hour arm’s workout. I also managed to finish my squat challenge (which was 160 squats for the day) and arm’s challenge (which was at some obnoxious level). At night, my fitbit step count for the day was around 8000 steps. My target for this week is 11,750 fitbit steps.

I knew that if I was to make that step count, I would need to go for a walk for at least 45-60 mins. If I ate, walked, showered and then went to bed then I wouldn’t be in bed until 1:00 am. In which case, all the king’s horses and all the king’s men wouldn’t be able to get me out of bed at 5:00 am and I will mis gym.

I decided, target or no-target, I am going to bed. It was probably the most sensible decision I made. I woke up rested, went to the gym. I did cardio for one hour (yesterday was rest day for both squat and arm challenges). I got stuck really late at work (came home at 11:00 am). But, I only had 1200 steps left because I had done cardio in the morning. I walked around my living room, met the step challenge for the day and bam, it was all done. One night sleep saved the next day for exercise.

I know, I have said it before but listen to your body. Look at long terms goals (as in ability to exercise the next day) and adapt as you go along. It is important to remember that this is not about one day or five days. It is about life time.